2005 News Story

King Faisal International Prize 2006 winners announced

Prince Khalid Al-Faisal, Director of King Faisal Foundation, today announced the winners of the 2006 King Faisal International Prize. Winners of the Foundation’s annual international prizes in four of the five categories. The Prize for Islamic Studies was not awarded this year due to fact that the works presented were unqualified for the awarding of the Prize.

The Prize for Service to Islam was awarded jointly to H. E. Sheikh Salih bin Abdulrahman Al-Husayyin from Saudi Arabia and Sheikh Yusuf bin Jasim bin Muhammad Al-Hidji from Kuwait. Sheikh Al-Husayyin has been awarded the Prize in recognition of his prominent role in preaching Islamic principles of righteousness, philanthropy, and particularly moderation and tolerance.  Apart from promoting those values and other principles of Islamic Da’awa (Call), Sheikh Al-Husayyin is also a recognized researcher in Islamic economics, especially its ability to accommodate contemporary economic ideas. He is also an ardent supporter of education, being an active member of the Supreme Councils of five Saudi Universities.

Sheikh Al-Hidji is recognized for his distinguished contributions to Islamic Da’awa, education and philanthropy.  He is a member of the Boards of Trustees of four Islamic universities in Africa and Asia and initiator of the College of Sharia (Islamic Law) at Kuwait University. He is also the founder or co-founder and chairman of several national and international charity and relief organizations, and founding president of the Kuwaiti Red Crescent Society.

Sheikh Al-Husayyin is President of the Affairs of Al-Masjid Al-Haraam and Al-Masjid An-Nabawii, and Chairman of the King Abdulaziz Center for National Dialogue and Sheikh Al-Hidji is Chairman of the International Islamic Charity Organization.

The Prize for Medicine (Biology) was awarded to Professor Michael Anthony Gimbrone, Jr. from the United States for his contributions to the field of vascular biology.  Professor Gimbrone has pioneered the culturing of human endothelial and smooth muscle cells, and discovered endothelial leucocyte adhesion molecules.  He identified three genes with potential arthroprotective activities. He developed a novel in vitro flow model to simulate pulsatile shear stress waveforms encountered by the endothelium in the arterial circulation which reveals the unique responsiveness of endothehal cells.  Dr. Gimbrone is Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School, and Chairman of the Department of Pathology at Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston.

The prize for Science (Mathematics ) was awarded jointly to Professor Simon Kirwan Donaldson  from the United Kingdom and Professor Mudumbai Seshachalu Narasimhan from India for their seminal contributions to theories which have strengthened the links between mathematics and physics, and helped provide a rigorous foundation for physical theories giving a very good description of the laws of matter at the sub-nuclear level.  Professor Donaldson is President of the Institute of Mathematical Sciences, and Professor of Mathematics at Imperial College, London;  Professor Narasimhan is honorary fellow at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research in India.

The prize for Arabic Language and Literature was awarded jointly to Professor Tammam Hassan Omar from Egypt and Professor Abdelkader Fassi Fehri from Morocco for their pursuit of modern Arabic linguistics.  Professor Omar is Emeritus Professor at Dar el-Uloum College, Cairo University.  Professor Fehri is director of the Institute for Study and Research of Arabization and Professor of Arabic and Comparative Linguistics, Mohammad V University.

Full details are available at the KFF website, http://www.kff.com.