2004 News Story

Municipal Councils to have 14 members in major cities only

Chairman of the committee overseeing the upcoming municipal elections Prince Mansour bin Me’teb bin Abdulaziz has announced that only in the major cities such as Riyadh, Dammam, Jeddah, Makkah and Madinah would the municipal councils have fourteen members, half of whom will be appointed, and half elected. Elections will be held in three stages beginning with Riyadh Province on February 10, 2005. There are 178 municipal councils in all.

Municipal councils in Taif, Al-Hasa, Buraidah, Abha, Hail, Tabuk, Jizan, Baha, Najran, Al-Jouf and in the Northern Border Province will have 12 members; while those in Khamis Mushait, Unayzah, Al-Kharj, Hafr Al-Baten and Yanbu will have 10 members. Councils in local governorates [muhafedas] and centers [merkaz ] will have eight or six members, while rural centers will have four.