2001 News Story

New composition of Council of Senior Islamic Scholars

A royal decree today has determined that the number of members of the Council of Senior Islamic Scholars [ulema] should be not fewer than eleven, and not more than twenty-one. Moreover, the term of office of the Council's members, with the exception of its chairman, should not exceed four years unless extended by a further royal decree. Furthermore, and again with the exception of the Chairman, the duration of the membership of current members expires after four years from the date of the issuance of this order unless a royal decree extends it.

In other royal decrees issued today, Sheikh Nasir bin Hamad bin Rashid and Sheikh Salih bin Abdulrahman Al-Atram were relieved from their services to the senior ulema on the grounds of ill health. Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques King Fahd bin Abdulaziz sent messages of thanks to them both, praising their great efforts in the Council.
The following new members were appointed to the Council:
1. Sheikh Dr. Salih bin Abdullah bin Humaid
2. Sheikh Dr. Ahmad Sirr Mubarki
3. Sheikh Dr. Abdullah bin Ali Al-Rakban
4. Sheikh Dr. Abdullah bin Muhammad Al-Mutlaq
The last three were also appointed as full-time members of the permanent committee for research and fatwa [religious decrees], an affiliate of the Council.