2000 News Story

Shura Council re-forms committees

At its 77th meeting today, the Consultative Council (Majlis Al-Shura) reviewed the report of the Ministry of Communications for fiscal year 1998 [1418/1419], and recommended completion of the national transport strategy, giving greater attention to safety measures on the roads. The Shura Council also recommended selling the State's share in transport companies like Saudi Arabian Public Transport (SAPTCO) and the National Shipping Company (NSC), provided that they are under the supervision of the Ministry of Communications.

In addition, the Shura Council announced the re-formation of the composition of its specialized committees, effective as of June 5, 2000, which is the beginning of the fourth year of its second session, as follows:
Islamic Affairs: Dr. Ahmed Bin Ali Seir Mubaraki as chairman, and Dr. Hamad Al-Firyan as deputy chairman, with as members, Hamoud Al-Fayez, Dr. Salih Al-Ali, Dr. Salih Al-Humeid, Dr. Abdulaziz Al-Rabee'a, Dr. Abdulaziz Al-Muneifi, and Ali Bijawi.
Foreign Affairs: Dr. Abdulaziz Al-Fayez as chairman, and Dr. Bander Al-Hajjar as deputy chairman, with as members, Dr. Bander Al-Eiban, Dr. Abdulaziz Al-Suweigh, Dr. Otheman Al-Rawaf, Bakri Shata, Mohammed Al-Mullah, and Mohammed Bin Nouri Ibrahim.
Transport and Telecommunications: Farhan Al-Bialwi as chairman, and Musaed Al-Anqari as deputy chairman, with as members, Dr. Asad Bin Suleiman Abdu, Dr. Khalid Nahas, Dr. Abdullah Al-Otheimin, Dr. Abdullah Al-Huzali, Abdullah Al-Malami, and Dr. Fahd Al-Anazi.
Economic Affairs: Dr. Mohammed Al-Kuneibit as chairman, and Dr. Falah Al-Subei'ei as deputy chairman, with as members Dr. Ahmed Al-Tuweijiri, Dr. Shuweish Al-mutairi, Dr. Abdelrahman Al-Zamil, Dr. Abdulaziz Daghistani, Dr. Fahd Al-Mubarak, and Mubarak Al-Khafra.
Systems and Administration: Dr. Abdulaziz Al-Nu'eim as chairman, and Dr. Ziad Al-Sudeiri as deputy chairman, with as members Badr Al-Amaj, Dr. Hussein Al-Alawi, Dr. Abdelrahman Abar, Dr. Othman Al-Ahmed, Dr. Mohammed Al-Ajlan, and Dr. Yousef Al-Salloum.
Educational Affairs: Dr. Saeed Al-Hajeir as chairman, and Dr. Tami Al-Bakmi as deputy chairman, with as members, Dr. Zeid Al-Hussein, Dr. Abdelrahman Al-Shibeili, Dr. Abdelrahman Abu Ammah, Dr. Eid Al-Shammari, Dr. Mohammed Al-Zulfa, and Dr. Hashim Bin Abdu Hashim.
Cultural and Information Affairs: Dr. Ali Al-Khudeiri as chairman, and Dr. Mohammed Al-Ghamidi as deputy chairman, with as members, Dr. Ahmed Al-Dubeib, Dr. Rashis Al-Shareef, Dr. Abdelrahman Al-Ansari, Omran Al-Omran, Dr. Fahd Al-Harethi, and Dr. Mani Al-Juhani.
Financial Affairs: Mansour Abdel-Ghaffar as chairman, and Dr. Abdelrahman AL-Jaffari as deputy chairman, with as members, Abdulaziz Al-Orei'ir, Abdullah Al-Hukeil, Dr. Abdelwahid Al-Humeid, Dr. Mohammed Bu Huleika, Mohammed Zeinal, and Mohammed Al-Shareef.
Services and Public Utilities: Dr. Saud Al-Mat'hami as chairman, and Mahmoud Taibah as deputy chairman, with as members, Dr. Hizam Al-Oteibi, Saad Al-Murri, Abdelmajeed Hariri, Abdulaziz Abu Milha, Ali Al-Hassoun, and Dr. Naif Al-Du'eis.
Security Affairs: Major-General (retired) Kamal Al-Marghalani as chairman, and Major-General (retired) Abdullah Al-Tasan as deputy chairman, with as members, Major-General (retired) Ibrahim Al-Miman, Major-General (retired) Hussein Al-Damer, Major-General (retired) Abdelgadir Kamal, Major-General (retired) Abdullah Al-Harbi, Abdullah Al-Dabbagh and Farraj Al-Oseili.
Social and Health Affairs: Yousef Kintab as chairman, and Dr. Abdulaziz Al-Khayyat as deputy chairman, with as members Dr. Hamad Al-Sugheir, Dr. Zuhair Al-Suba'ei, Dr. Salih Al-Malik, Dr. Abdul-ilah Banaja, Abdel-raziq Al-Gein, Dr. Falih Al-Fali and Dr. Yahya Juneid.