2000 News Story

Winners of King Faisal Prize announced

Director-General of the King Faisal Foundation Prince Khalid Al-Faisal, Governor of Asir Province, today announced the names of the winners in three of the five categories of the 2001 King Faisal International Prize.

The prize for Service to Islam was earlier announced awarded to the Higher Commission for the Collection of Donations for Bosnia-Herzegovina. The prize for Islamic Studies, on the topic 'Studies on Matters with no Islamic Legal Precedent', has been withheld, none of the nominated works having met the requirements.

For Arabic Literature the award went jointly to Professor Ibrahim A. Al-Saafin (Professor of Arabic Literature, University of Jordan) and Professor Mansour I. Al-Hazimi (Professor of Arabic Literature, King Saud University, Saudi Arabia) for their contributions to the study of the various genres of modern Arabic prose.
In Medicine the prize, in the field of organ transplantation, was awarded jointly to Professor Sir Roy Yorke Calne (Emeritus Professor of Surgery, University of Cambridge, UK), Professor Norman Edward Shumway (Professor and Chairman of the Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery, Stanford University, California, USA), and Professor Thomas Earl Starzl (Professor of Surgery, University of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, USA).
In the Sciences the prize, in the field of Physics, was jointly awarded to Professor Sajeev O. John (Professor of Physics, University of Toronto, Canada) and Professor Chen Ning Yang (Albert Einstein Professor Emeritus, State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA).
Prince Khalid Al-Faisal also announced the topics for next year's prize: Medicine - Pathophysiology of Chronic Heart Failure; Science - Mathematics; Arabic Literature - Modern Palestinian Literature; Islamic Studies - The Objectives of Islamic Legislation. The deadline for all nominations is April 30, 2001.