1999 News Story

Shura Council inducts four new members

A royal decree was issued today appointing four new members to the Consultative Council (Majlis Al-Shura).  They are Dr. Abdullah Bin Salih Al-Othemin, Fahd Bin Abdullah Al-Mubarak, Mansour Bin Mahmoud Abdel-Ghaffar, and Yousef Bin Yacub Kintab.

Meanwhile, a delegation headed by Major-General (retired) Abdulqdir Bin Adbullahi Kamal, Chairman of the Shura Council's committee on security matters, is attending as an observer the three-day deliberations in Damascus, Syria, of the 34th Conference of the Arab Parliamentary Union.
The Shura Council's regular meeting today continued its review of the annual reports of government bodies, making recommendations for the Civil Service Bureau [now the Ministry of Civil Service], the Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs, and the Ministry of Industry and Electricity.