1999 News Story

SAA extends smoking ban on international flights

Saudi Arabian Airlines (SAA) announced today implementation of the second phase of its plan to prohibit smoking on international flights, imposing the ban on flights to Addis Ababa, Alexandria, Amman, Asmara, Beirut, Cairo, Damascus, Khartoum, Sanaa, Shiraz, and Tehran. The first phase, in effect since September 1999, affected flights to Abu-Dhabi, Bahrain, Dubai, Kuwait, Oman and Qatar. The third and final phase, covering all international flights, would be effected on June 1, 2000.